Menu open icon Search icon Close icon facebook twitter youtube instagram linkedin Butterly graphic Facebook share icon LinkedIn share icon Email share icon Twitter share icon Download Icon

EU Update on Non-Cooperative Jurisdictions

11th Oct 2019

Today the EU has announced that the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been removed from its ‘tax blacklist’, a list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

The UAE has introduced economic substance requirements to their tax policy frameworks which now meet the required EU standards. This follows their commitment to implement these changes by the end of 2018. As a result, the UAE is now compliant with all commitments on tax cooperation and has been removed from the tax blacklist.

In addition to today’s news, Mauritius and Switzerland were both found to be compliant with all commitments on tax cooperation by the EU Council along with Albania, Costa Rica and Serbia.

If you would like to speak with any of our Dubai, Switzerland or Mauritius team please contact them directly.